1 2 3 4 5
Published On: Fri, Mar 24th, 2023

Jailed APC Senatorial Candidate Nwaoboshi, 24 Others Petition Delta Electoral Tribunal


LAGOS MARCH 24TH (URHOBOTODAY)-National and House of Assembly elections petition Tribuna sitting in Asaba, Delta State has started taking motions on 25 petitions received from eight senatorial and 17 House of Representatives litigants and their parties.

The jailed All Progressives Congress (APC) senatorial candidate of Delta North, Senator Peter Onyeluka Nwaoboshi, is among the eight persons that filed petitions against their political opponents, seeking review of the election results in their favour at the tribunal.

The tribunal Secretary, Okedara Adejoke, told The Guardian in Asaba, yesterday, that of the 15 motions served, 12 were granted as prayed while three were struck out.

Adejoke disclosed that Nwaoboshi filed a petition against the Peopl;es Democratic Party (PDP) Senator-elect, Nwoko Chinedu Munir, and INEC, while Delta South PDP senatorial candidate, Diden Michael, petitioned against APC Senator-elect, Joel Onowaikpo, and INEC respectively.

The Tribunal Secretary explained further that PDP senatorial candidate for Delta Central, Chief Ighotoya Amori petitioned against APC Senator-elect, Dafinone Ede Omueya, and INEC in Suit No: Ept/Dl/ Send/04/23; while senatorial candidate of All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA), Timinimi George Ugulasuowei, petitioned against Joel Onowaikpo and INEC.

Other petitioners include: Oboro Evelyn Omavowan, PDP House of Representatives candidate, who petitioned against Etanabene Benedict, LP and INEC; Eselemo Ukubokeyei Collins of New Nigeria People Party (NNPP) who petitioned against Nicholas Mutu of PDP, Brikitamarankko Juliano of APC and INEC.


Subscribe to our newsletter for news update:

About the Author



Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>