1 2 3 4 5
Published On: Sat, Mar 2nd, 2013

Delta State – Uduaghan Laments Injustice, Inequality in Niger Delta …..As Deltans cart away Silverbird awards

Share This

Delta State Governor, Dr Emmanuel Uduaghan

DELTA State Governor, Dr Emmanuel Uduaghan has decried the injustice being suffered by the people of the Niger Delta region.
Speaking at Silverbird ‘Man of the Year 2012’ award held Thursday night in Lagos where two Deltans bagged awards, Governor Uduaghan said it was unfortunate that decades after a Niger Delta activist, Isaac Adaka Boro brought to the consciousness of the world the injustice being suffered by the people of the Niger Delta region, the situation was yet to be resolved.

Minister of Finance, Prof. Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, a Deltan bagged the ‘Man of the Year’ award while Chief Newton Jibunor, also a Deltan reputed for his campaign against desert encroachment, was rewarded for his crusade against desertification in Africa.
Others who were also given award at the well attended ceremony include Chief Emeka Anyaoku and Sergeant Georgeta Y., a Traffic Officer with the Nigerian Police; while post-humus awards went to late Afrobeat legend, Fela Anikulapo-Kuti; late political icon, Mallam Aminu Kano; and Niger Delta activist, Major Isaac Adaka Boro.
Presenting an award to one of the siblings of Boro, Governor Uduaghan stated that the late Isaac Boro “died fighting for fairness and justice in the Niger-Delta,” stressing that “today, we have not achieved fairness and justice in the Niger Delta.”
While praying that the award should lead to the entrenchment of justice and fairness in the oil-rich region, Governor Uduaghan commended Silverbird for organizing the award which recognized the inputs of Nigerians to the nation’s development.
Dr. Okonjo-Iweala said she felt humbled with the award and called on all Nigerians to be committed in working for the country to achieve greatness, while Chief Jibunor said: “this award is a great honour, it is an honour for me to serve Nigeria more.”
Other recipients of the award expressed joy that their contributions to the nation’s development are being recognized, assuring that they will continue to work in the interest of the country.
Earlier, the chairman of the occasion and former federal Minister, Odein Ajumogobia (SAN) described the award as “coveted public tribute to Nigeria,” adding: “this is an award to a person who has affected the Nigerian public in a most profound way in the year given.”
In attendance at the award ceremony where the Governors of Delta, Dr Emmanuel Uduaghan; that of Anambra State, Mr Peter Obi; Kano State, Kwakwanso; Bauchi State, Alhaji Isa Yaguda; representatives of some state governors; Ide Ahaba, Chief Sunny Odogwu, Prof. Pat Utomi, Ministers, industrialists, among others.

Subscribe to our newsletter for news update:

About the Author


Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Konga Verified Blogger

Konga Verified Blogger