Published On: Thu, Sep 12th, 2013

Delta Central Bye-Election: ACN , ANPP, CPC Chairmen Adopt Keyamo for Senate

Olorogun Festus Keyamo on white dress (centre) celebrating with party loyalists after his adoption as their candidate

By Theophilus Onojeghen
The hope of Chief O’Tega Omerho and other aspirants of All African Peoples Congress (APC) in representing the party in the coming Delta Central Senatorial bye-election seems to have been shattered as Defunct Chairmen of Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN), Congress for Progressive Change (CPC) and All Nigeria Peoples Party (ANPP) in Delta Central that has combined to form All Progressive Congress( APC) has adopted Delta born radical lawyer, Olorogun Festus Keyamo as the party consensus candidate in the forth coming bye election in Delta Central of Delta State.

(L-R) Olorogun Festus Keyamo and APC leader in Ethiope West LGA, Chief (Capt.) Victor. A. Sota, representing the legacy parties

With this development, it appears Festus Keyamo would be the candidate to fly the flag of the All Progressive Congress in Delta Central Senatorial re-run in replacement Late Sen. Pius Ewherido at the National Assembly.
The Chairmen, elected officers and other leaders of the legacy parties from the eight local governments that make up the Delta Central Senatorial District made this known in a communiqué released after several hours of meeting in Effurun on Wednesday, September 11, 2013.
In a communiqué at the end of the meeting read to newsmen and party faithful, APC leader in Ethiope West LGA, Chief (Capt.) Victor. A. Sota, representing the legacy parties, noted that as owners of the party, their decision to adopt Keyamo as a consensus Candidate is binding on all and sundry of the legacy parties in Delta Central.
Prominent among signatories to the communiqué are ACN Chairman, Delta Central, Mr. Solomon Oyen, Delta Central ANPP Chairman, Hon. Chief S.I Savbede, ACN State Legal Adviser, Chief Hero Onwirhiran, CPC Deputy State Chairman, Mr. Igini Aghogho, CPC State Publicity Secretary, Sir. Raphael Tobore Ogene and ANPP State Welfare head, Joseph Akpotihiwe.
Others are ACN Welfare officer, Engr. Urhole Jonah, CPC State Asst. Sec., Mr. Vincent Efeakpor, ANPP State Treasurer, Mr. Johnson Ijaba, CPC State financial Sec., Rex A. Okwa and about 150 other elected officers. The State Chairman of the CPC was also on hand to witness the event. The ACN State Chairman, Adolo Okotie-Eboh, though absent, sent his goodwill message through the Delta Central Chairman.
Responding, Olorogun Festus Keyamo thanked the officials and leaders of the legacy parties for the confidence reposed in him and promised to lead the party to a resounding victory at the polls. he called on all other aspirants to join hands with him, the leaders and elders to move the Party forward. He stressed that it was only in an atmosphere free from rancour that the Party can achieve success at the polls.

About the Author


Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Konga Verified Blogger

Konga Verified Blogger