Published On: Sat, Jan 19th, 2013

Delta 2015; Group Adopts Ogboru for Delta State Governor

Share This

Chief Great Ogboru

Democratic Peoples Party (DPP) in Udu Local Government Area of Delta State has adopted Chief Great Ovedje Ogboru as the party’s choice for the 2015 governorship polls just as the group appealed to those elected on DPP platform into various leadership positions to be responsive to the needs of party members.
The decision was taken following a motion adopted during a meeting of the party leaders, LGA executive, women leaders and Ward Chairmen at the residence of Sir Richard Odibo in Ekpan, Warri last weekend where issues bordering on the party’s fortunes and future were addressed critically by stakeholders.
Notwithstanding the Great Ovedje Ogboru 2011 polls tribunal review case still pending at the Supreme Court where Ogboru is challenging the outcome of the 2011 governorship elections, the party resolved that should the need arise for elections to hold in 2015, Great Ovedje Ogboru should be the standard bearer of the party. The motion as moved by Amos Utiri and seconded by Chief Sammie Sokoh (Snr) was unanimously adopted by all the party leaders and executive members. The Group said it would identify with Ogboru wherever he may be or move to.
In his address during the meeting, Sir Richard Odibo thanked members for their steadfastness, stressing that the party must be united and focused to overcome the challenges ahead.
Other decisions taken at the meeting include inviting Senator Pius Ewherido, Chief Austin Ogbaburhon of the Federal House of Representatives and Chief Keston Okoro of the Delta State House of Assembly who were all elected on the party platform in the 2011 polls to attend the next meeting of party leaders to address them on their programme of action for the party and the area they represent.
The meeting was attended Chief John Egbetamah, Chief Christian Whiliki, Chief Fred Okaka JP, Chief Sammie Sokoh, Chief J.B Onoherhe, Mr Peter Diaka, Chairman, DPP in Udu; W. Oghiagbephan, Edjoghene Onoseme, Chief Love Okoro, Mrs Grace Onoherhe, Mrs Ejiroghene Tesi-Samali, DPP woman leader in Udu among others.

About the Author


Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Konga Verified Blogger

Konga Verified Blogger