1 2 3 4 5
Published On: Sun, Feb 15th, 2015

11 Women Supporters of Nigeria’s First Lady Perish in Auto Crash

LAGOS FEBRUARY 15TH (URHOBOTODAY)-At least 11 female supporters of the First Lady, Patience Jonathan, died in a road accident on Saturday night, officials have said.
The victims were all in the same bus that was involved in the accident. They were Bayelsa branch leaders of an organisation, Women For Change, that is sponsored by Mrs. Jonathan.
The accident occurred at Ahoada axis of East-West road in Rivers State.
The Bayelsa Sector Commander of the Federal Road Safety Commission, FRSC, Vincent Jack, confirmed the development to PREMIUM TIMES on Sunday.

Mr. Jack explained that nine persons were burnt to death, two died without burns, while many others who sustained injuries were rushed to Madonna clinic in the area.
According to him, the accident occurred when the tyres of a Toyota Sienna burst and rammed into the bus carrying the women. The bus, which had the inscription of the organisation, subsequently went up in flames.
A former councillor in Ogbia Local Government Area, Gbaregolo Eseimokumo, listed some of the victims as Consider Amadi, a former women leader in Ogbia; Clara Abila, a grassroots politician; Immaculate Amasimua, former Commissioner at the Civil Service Commission in Bayelsa; and Elisabeth Oguru, wife of the Secretary to the State Government.
Others are Zimbra Goma, former Commissioner for Women Affairs; Ruby Benjamin, former House of Assembly member representing Brass Constituency 1 in Bayelsa; amongst others.
A security official said all the women in the bus, but one, were killed. The survivor is receiving medical attention.
The women were said to have paid a two-day solidarity visit to the first lady in Okirika, Rivers State.
Premium Times

Subscribe to our newsletter for news update:

About the Author



Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>