1 2 3 4 5
Published On: Fri, May 29th, 2015

Jubilation as Okowa is Sworn in As 12th Delta State Governor

Governor Delta State, Dr Ifeanyi Okowa

Governor Delta State, Dr Ifeanyi Okowa

LAGOS MAY 29TH (URHOBOTODAY)- There was jubilation in Delta State Dr Ifeanyi Okowa was sworn in as the Governor of Delta State on Friday, making him the 12th Governor of the state.
The Chief Judge of the state, Justice Marshall Umukoro, administered the oath of office to the new Governor in the midst of a mammoth crowd at the Cenotaph, Okpanam road, Asaba the Delta State Capital.

Dr Okowa served as a Commissioner in the Delta State Government for Agriculture and Natural Resources from July 1999 to April 2001, Water Resources Development from April 2001 – May 2003 and Health from September 2003 to October 2006.
The Delta State Governor then resigned to contest for governorship in the 2007 PDP primaries where he lost, but was appointed Secretary to the Delta State Government the same year.
He was later elected Delta North Senatorial candidate in the January 2011 PDP primaries, but the result was challenged by party leaders who favoured Marian Amaka Alli as candidate after Okowa polled a total of 942 votes. He was later re-elected in a rerun election.
Governor Okowa finally won the Delta State Governorship election 2015 in April, polling a total of 724,680 votes on the platform of the PDP.

Subscribe to our newsletter for news update:

About the Author


Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Konga Verified Blogger

Konga Verified Blogger