1 2 3 4 5
Published On: Wed, Jan 15th, 2014

Return to PDP, Clark Begs 37 Defected Reps

Chief Edwin Clark

LAGOS JANUARY 15TH (URHOBOTODAY)—FORMER Federal Commissioner for Information and Ijaw leader, Chief Edwin Clark, yesterday, pleaded with the 37 members of the House of Representatives who decamped from the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, to the opposition, All Progressives Congress, APC, to return to their former party.
Clark also urged the PDP National Chairman, Alhaji Bamanga Tukur, the PDP Governors’ Forum, stakeholders and other leaders to work together in unison and hold rallies everywhere, to ensure victory for the ruling party in the 2015 presidential election.
Speaking when he received members of PDP from Kwara South Senatorial District led by the Chairman, Senate Committee on Cooperation and Integration in Africa and New Partnership for Africa’s Development, Senator Simeon Ajibola at his Asokoro residence, Abuja, he however, predicted that the APC would soon explode, as the problems facing it would “be greater than they imagine.”
Clark noted that there was no crisis in the PDP, pointing out that what they had was mere disagreement.
He said: “There is no crisis in PDP, those who defected in the House of Representatives from PDP to APC should realise the consequences because INEC says there is no crisis in PDP. PDP is intact. If five out of 23 governors depart, if 1,000 from Kaduna State defect, it does not mean that there is crisis; people disagree.
“I want to appeal to members of the House of Representatives to retrace their steps and go back to PDP because it has not got to that stage; it is legal and not sentimental. The constitution is the Koran and Bible of Nigeria. It is supreme and it states that if you defect when there is no crisis in the party, you loose your seat. PDP is their party, they should remain there.”
Speaking on Kwara State and the defection of Senator Bukola Saraki to APC, Chief Clark warned that no human being should claim sole ownership of a state because the people own the state.
According to him, Kwara State belongs to the people and not Bukola Saraki, the former governor who cannot do what his late father, Oloye Olusola Saraki could not do.
In their remarks, former Senator Suleiman Ajadi and Senator Ajibola said that the people decided “to take their destiny into their hands in Kwara South and have vowed to remain in PDP and support President Jonathan,” but pleaded with the Federal Government to support them in achieving their set goals.
Those who accompanied the two senators included Comrade Ben Duntoye; Chief Olusegun Olawoyin; Ademola Bamidele; Jaiye Akeredolu; Suleiman Mansur; Chief Kolawole Olosunde and Tajudeen Bisi Abioye.
Source: Vanguard

Subscribe to our newsletter for news update:

About the Author


Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Konga Verified Blogger

Konga Verified Blogger