1 2 3 4 5
Published On: Sun, Sep 15th, 2013

Eyimba,Warri Wolves Battle for Federation Cup Today

Warri Wolves Captain Azubuike Egwueke.

LAGOS SEPTEMBER 15TH (URHOBOTODAY)-Enyimba of Aba and Warri Wolves will today lock horns in the Federation Cup final today at the Teslim Balogun Stadium, Lagos as both teams battle for supremacy after they cancelled each other out in the league earlier this season.
Warri Wolves are gunning for their first Federation Cup win after an impressive run for the team whose best previous record was a place in the last 16.
Enyimba on the other hand have tasted victory twice; they were victorious in their first two final appearances in 2005 and 2009 when they beat Lobi Stars and Sharks but their final two outings have ended in losses. Kaduna United and Heartland of Owerri stopped them in 2010 and 2011 despite the Aba Millionaires being the bookmakers’ favourites to win the trophy on both occasions.
Super Eagles defender and Warri Wolves captain Azubuike Egwuekwe told MTNFootball.
com that they have score to settle with Enyimba in the Federation Cup final. “It is not going to be an easy game we all know after how we all worked hard to get here. It will be an interesting match but we have scores to settle. We could not beat them in both league games this season.
We are therefore looking forward to win the Federation Cup and that way settle the scores,” Egwuekwe stated.
Meanwhile, organisers have announced the prize monies for the winners and the top stars of the cup competition.
The winners of the 2013 Federation Cup will earn 2 million Naira, while the runners-up pocket 1 million.
The Most Valuable Player will be rewarded with the sum of 150,000 Naira, while the overall top scorer of the tournament will go home with 100,000 Naira.
Heartland won the 2012 Federation Cup with Brendan Ogbu adjudged the Most Valuable Player, while Isah Akor won the top scorers’ award.

Subscribe to our newsletter for news update:

About the Author


Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Konga Verified Blogger

Konga Verified Blogger