1 2 3 4 5
Published On: Sat, Jul 25th, 2015

Labour Party Optimistic of Election Tribunal Canceling Delta State Governorship Election

Chief Great Ogboru, Delta State Labour Party Governorship candidate

Chief Great Ogboru, Delta State Labour Party Governorship candidate

LAGOS JULY 25TH (URHOBOTODAY)- Delta State Labour Party ha expressed optimism that the Delta State electoral tribunal may cancel Delta State Governorship election held on April 11th, 2014 in Delta State during to irregularities.
Delta State Chairman of Labour Party, Chief Tony Ezeagwu who made the disclosure while responding to questions on the fortune of Labour Party at the on going Delta State election petition tribunal sitting at Asaba, Ddelta State ascribed his optimism to the discrepancy between the actual votes cast as recorded by the card-readers and the results declared by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

According to him, “All of you who are pressmen knew what happened during the elections in Delta state. So, for this Tribunal not to cancel this election, would be an abberation. There is no two ways about it.
“Every Deltan who witnessed the election must know that there were no elections in Delta state and coupled with when the card-reader is reading about 700,000, the winner got 700,000 and INEC declared over one million is a fraud.”
Three petitions are currently before the three-man Tribunal headed by Justice Nasiru Gunmi, challenging the declaration of Dr. Ifeanyi Okowa of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) as winner of the April 11 governorship election by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).
The petitions were filed by Chief Great Ogboru of Labour Party, Olorogun O’tega Emerhor of the All Progressive Congress (APC) and Mr. Paul Isamade of Allied Congress Party of Nigeria (ACPN).
Recall that Senator Okowa of the PDP scored 724, 680 votes to defeat the Labour Party (LP) Candidate Chief Great Ogboru who scored 130, 028 votes in second place and the All Progressive Congress (APC) candidate Olorogun O’tega Emerhor who came out third with 67, 825 votes.
Details of the results as announced by the Delta State Governorship election Returning Officer, Prof. Bio Nyananyo, are as follows:
AC -3297
ACD – 441
ACPN – 0
ADC – 868
APC – 67, 825
APGA – 1256
CPP – 156
ID – 319
KOWA – 594
LP – 130, 028
MPPP – 121
NCP – 173
PDC – 194
PDM – 504
PDP – 724, 680
SDP – 6
UPN – 229
UPP – 1117
Registered Voters – 2, 044, 372
Accredited Voters – 1, 017, 796
Valid Votes Cast – 931, 808
Rejected Votes – 24, 931
Total Votes Cast – 956, 721

Subscribe to our newsletter for news update:

About the Author


Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Konga Verified Blogger

Konga Verified Blogger